April 12, 2019

Student Leadership Awards Ceremony recognized outstanding contributions to the University and the community

HACKETTSTOWN, N.J., April 12, 2019—Centenary University recognized more than 100 students at the annual Student Leadership Awards Ceremony yesterday. Held in the David and Carol Lackland Center, the annual event celebrates outstanding contributions to the University and surrounding community by students and campus organizations including First Year Leaders, Resident Assistants, the Student Government Association, the Educational Opportunity Program, Chi Sigma Alpha, and Changebuilders.

In addition to presenting the student awards, Centenary honored Lauren Bergey, Ph.D., as this year’s Faculty Advisor of the Year. Dr. Bergey is an associate professor of biology and serves as director of the University’s Honors Program. A graduate of Millersville University, she earned a master’s degree from East Carolina University and a doctorate from Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey. Dr. Bergey was the recipient of the Centenary University Distinguished Teaching Award in 2010.

“These honorees embody Centenary’s goal to educate student leaders who strive to make a positive impact, on campus and in the local community,” said Kerry Mullins, vice president for student life and dean of students. “We are extremely proud to celebrate their accomplishments at this annual event.”

Twenty-five students received top awards at the event:

New Jersey

Burlington County

Bordentown—Hope Leonard, Centenary Hero

Palmyra—David Vanartsdalen, Intern of the Year

Camden County

Haddonfield—Maureen Agnew, Rev. Dr. Jonathan Meeker Award

Essex County

Irvington—Jefferson Jean-Paul, Lotte Honors; Clerson Xavier, Everett Johnson Award

Newark—Anna Stroud, Eugene A. Noble Award and Greek Leadership Award; Grace Tyler, Intern of the Year; Halifa Bradford, Excellence with the Hack Yearbook Award

Middlesex County

Colonia—Julianna Wright, Centenary Spirit

Morris County

Landing—Victoria Cattano, Douglas Wolfe Turrell Community Service Award; Zachary Martino, Spilled Ink Award

Ocean County

Brick—Alec Donovan, Douglas Wolfe Turrell Community Service Award

Somerset County

Somerset—Marco Cordova, Commuter of the Year

Sussex County

Newton—Benjamin Sibblies, Dr. Charles Frederickson Award; Candice Daly, Accolade Winner

Union County

Hillside—Najee Evans, Seay Honors; Aarenee Greene, Judith Deacon Tartaglia Memorial Award and President of the Year Award

Westfield—Mariah Russo, Robert Trevorrow Award

Warren County

Great Meadows—Jacob Smith, Raymode Maurice Award

Hackettstown—Linda Gonia, Community Engagement Award

Oxford—Luciana Schwab, Excellence With the Hack Yearbook Award

Washington—Kaitlynn Zack, Beacon for the Region Award

Washington State

Freeland—Emma Kerr, Rising Leader Award

International Students

Japan—Keiji Ippoushi, International Student of the Year

Korea—Jeongin Yang, International Student of the Year


Founded in 1867 by the Newark Conference of the United Methodist Church, Centenary University’s academic program integrates a solid liberal arts foundation with a strong career orientation. This mix provides an educational experience that prepares students to succeed in the increasingly global and interdependent world. The University’s main campus is located in Hackettstown, N.J., with its equestrian facility in Washington Township. The Centenary University School of Professional Studies offers degree programs at two locations, Parsippany and Edison, as well as online and at corporate sites throughout New Jersey.

Skip to content